Bored little teenager

26 Mar

I can vaguely remember the last time I was bored.

Sure, sometimes you run out of things to do at work with an hour or two left on the clock and I feel restless, or sometimes a video game starts being repetitive and it starts to feel dull, but none of that is comparable to a feeling of dreadful BORINGNESS that I remember feeling being stuck at home with nothing to do but watch TV.

When I talk about boredom I mean the feeling suffocation so palpable that you can’t help but let out “mom…I’m bored!! Let’s do something!”

I think the last time I was bored I was maybe around between 14 or 16. The internet existed but it hadn’t reached our poor inner city apartment.  We had vhs tapes but I’d seen them all, I had a super nintendo but I’d mastered the few games I owned a long time ago.  I didn’t have a car so the only way I could go anywhere was to walk to the bus station in front of the Great Western Forum and take several buses out to Torrance and avoid getting shot or stabbed along the way.

I’m not sure if it is an age or civilization thing, but I haven’t felt real boredom since then and good riddance!

At home I have several xbox games that I haven’t finished and I’m barely halfway through 2 wii games.  There’s Netflix instant watcher and the 300 movies I’ve put into my instant queue (including the hours-long Civil War documentary by Ken Burns) and I have the DVD Netflix sent me that I haven’t yet finished.

My boyfriend gave me a Kindle for xmas and I loaded it up with 400 books and on top of that he let me borrow a physical book recently.  I can read twitter and reddit so much that I’ve started to neglect facebook because I find it a generally humorless place.

Well that’s all technology, what if we strip all of that away? Well then I have dinner dates with Ant, friends who want to drink, exercise (oy), and just Brooklyn and Manhattan in general.

So I wonder, am I not bored because I’m 28, or is it because of the times that I live in? Are the 2000’s more interesting than the 90’s?

There’s significantly less malls in my life now, that might have something to do with it.

Leave a Reply

