1 Year Anniversary

2 Aug

There’s a saying that a 1 year anniversary is 5 in gay years.  I realize now that this saying survives because of single people.  Yesterday the bf and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary and I speak with authority when I say that it didn’t feel like a year much less 5 gay ones.

Speaking with authority is a practice I want to get into more often as I get older, so in that spirit I’d like to offer up a bit of life experience regarding love.  

There was a moment where I realized that Ant and I could function on a level beyond what I can by myself, and it’s when we made Thanksgiving dinner together.  Previously I doubted I could ever make that meal, but with a few phone calls and some know-how, we prepared a meal that we both gobbled up.  The impossible task was accomplished and we were not only boyfriend and boyfriend but a team. This is when I realized that I needed this in my life.

The other bit of info is about butterflies in your stomach, which people claim go away with time. I suspect that’s inaccurate.  The butterflies in your stomach don’t go away, but you go about your day less mindful of them, similar to how one isn’t consciously aware that one is breathing.  I say this because when I see him waking up in the morning I am aware of those butterflies and I remember that I’m breathing.

Happy Anniversary Ant!

3 Responses to “1 Year Anniversary”

  1. anthony pasquarosa August 2, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    i love this. its the most beautiful thing anyone has ever written or said about me. i love you baby.

    • Kevin J. August 9, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

      Love you too babe

  2. shanparker September 6, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    Cute shit

Leave a Reply

