No Cursing

15 Jan

Image found here

I developed two new years resolutions after the main event happened.  The resolutions snuck up on me throughout the beginning of January and I kept them because I figured they weren’t such bad ideas.

One is fairly traditional: Finish a novel.  We’ve got 14,000 words down and 80,000 to go and I’ve found the whole business of building a novel to be surprisingly do-able as I’m a windbag.

The second one is a bit more non-traditional and has offended a few sensibilities: I am not going to curse this year.

I think my generation was raised in a very prudish world of network television FCC guidelines, and the oppressive nature of these censors had a direct effect on how we communicate online.  While you couldn’t say certain words on TV, we found we could say all of the most horrible rude words on the Internet, and everyone went for it with amazing gusto.

When I started blogging I went for it too.  I had C-words, and N-words, and F-words, and in some cases I melded two or three curse words together to make new and crazier curse words.

George Carlin and Howard Stern were my patron saints of cursing and anti-censorship from the very beginning.

But something happened that changed the renaissance of cursing for me, and I think the kids had a lot to do with it.  There were stories of loser 8 year olds calling each other the F word over Xbox live, and stories of people calling girls C-words (and then saying ‘had nothing to do with her sex bro), and people using the F word less for what it meant and more as an in-between words lyric that didn’t really mean anything.

I don’t watch TV any more–I just load up Netflix–so the FCC can censor networks all it wants, and Howard Stern moved to satellite where he’s free to curse, and I find that the oppressive censoring of curse words are no longer a reality for me.

But now everyone is George Carlin calling Richard Pryor the N word, but they’re not doing standup when they do that, it’s happening in inboxes and on message boards, and people yuck it up and move on without a care of the harm they’re doing.

In other words, there is a surplus of free speech.  You still can’t shout fire in a crowded theater without getting arrested, but you can stand up in the online theater and yell out all curse words known to man without immediate repercussions, and I don’t want a part of that.

Now I have given myself a few stipulations:

1. I can quote other people cursing if it is important to the conversation

2. I can create similar words in case I need to curse.  For example “Shitstorm” becomes “poop tornado.”

3. I can curse if whatever I’m saying demands it. I mean I have to wait for crowning moments of awesome in order to curse.  I have to be facing down the most bigoted southern lawyer in existence before I rise from my wheelchair and bellow out a mighty FUCK YOU, SIR! 

Please join me in protecting our curse words, for they are national treasures.

Leave a Reply

