30 Truths Before Turning 30

14 May

I recently read this and thought to myself, “what a great thing to steal!”

Young writer Ian wrote out 30 bits of advice as mini-essays he wished his younger self knew. It’s a great project because its doable and personal. I want to do the same but I wanted to broaden the appeal a little.  You see, I was a pretty headstrong kid that didn’t have too many doubts about myself so if a 30 year old me materialized in front of a 19 year-old-me I think we’d both just roll our eyes at each other.

Having said all that, I do think this headstrong kid can look within myself and yank out 30 truths I’ve learned in life. I’ve mapped out a few in my head and not all of them will be life-affirming, but I think they’ll be at least useful to read and useful for me to have around so 50-year-old me can roll his eyes at them.

These are 30 things I hold to be true that I hope will help anyone worried about turning 30.  Here, let me give one for free right now: You won’t be ready to turn 30 until you’re 29.

How come no one told me that??

 

4 Responses to “30 Truths Before Turning 30”

  1. Ian May 14, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

    “Good artists copy, great artists steal.” Good luck, and thanks for sharing!

    • Kevin J. May 14, 2012 at 11:14 pm #

      Ha! I hoped you took it as a compliment!

      • Ian May 14, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

        Of course! Got to have thick skin in this biz, and how could I write a blog essentially about taking it easy and not being an asshole and then get all bent out of shape? No worries, and seriously good luck.

  2. website June 4, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    It appears to me that this site doesnt download on a Motorola Droid. Are other folks having the exact same issue? I enjoy this blog and dont want to have to miss it whenever Im gone from my computer.

Leave a Reply

