24. Travel

23 May

I’m writing this list with my junior high and high school friends in mind, and I think if I told said friends to “TRAVEL” they’d stare at me with that self-defeated look in their eyes when they were told to read books. I’d imagine that telling them to “TRAVEL” would be like telling them get “good manners.”

Hell I know some of those kid’s mothers and fathers would roll their eyes.  “Travel? We’re barely paying our bills. How are we going to travel?”

Well, honestly, I don’t care how you travel as long as you do. Travel and observe.  I think we were all born with a natural inclination to travel — to see what’s above and beyond the hill — or to take a trip downtown by ourselves and walk around.  It’s the mundane responsibilities of life that try and squash a love of travel, and unfortunately a lot of people have given up on the concept.

My family was as poor as mud but my folks still managed save up enough money to send me on small trips to Nevada, Disneyland, and occasionally to miserable trips to my mother country Guatemala (which I wrote about sarcastically here: p.s. I don’t hate my mom, but I do hate my dad).

I hated the trips to Guatemala but I still ended up appreciating them. Traveling expands your mind and forces you to observe that there is no “right” way to live; people just adapt to wherever it is they are, and that’s an important lesson in empathy.

Travel, young person, but don’t think that traveling means an expensive European vacation with high priced hotels and spas. Travel doesn’t have to be a bougie affair.  When I lived in LA I considered my car drives to Santa Monica “travel.”  I saw my first real life blonde person because I drove out of the crappy neighborhood I lived in. I discovered the den of sin known as Boystown West Hollywood. I ate at the best little Chili Dog stand in LA by Melrose (Pink’s Hot Dog). Los Angeles tried to keep me in one place economically and I broke out of there.  No one can tell you where to stay!

The last trip I took was to Boston…by bus…and I stayed at a bed and breakfast with the bf.  I just wanted to see the city proper.  We had beer’s at a pub next to a cobblestone street and as we walked out we stumbled onto an outdoor holocaust memorial. Later that day I soaked my feet in the Frog Pond surrounded by weeping willows.

Magical!

T-R-A-V-E-L  claw your way out of where you were born.  With the proper research you can travel–even locally–and not spend a terrible amount of money.  The experience is worth it and you might learn a thing about yourself.  For instance, I learned that I despised Los Angeles and that I belonged in New York.  No regret there!

Leave a Reply

