Every boy in the developed parts (and not so developed) of the United States of America wanted an Easy Bake Oven.

5 Dec

Every boy in the developed parts (and not so developed) of the United States of America wanted an Easy Bake Oven.

This is something that I think most people will not cop too.  Ladies, your manly boyfriends and husbands might never tell you, so I am telling you, that every boy wanted an easy bake oven.

Despite the gender red flags that Easy Bake Oven commercials set up in our prepubescent eyes–the pink, the light chorus of preteen girls singing, the mom in the kitchen–we wanted it.  It was a toy that could make things that we could eat, end of story.

Many boys had access to Easy Bake Ovens via sisters who got the toy. It was okay to help your little sister use the toy, hell, it was your manly duty to play with the oven so your sister could understand how to use it.

I was an only child.

There was no shortage of boys toys that were cooler than girls toys (there was no competition once video games showed up), but there was a great swathe of boys toys that were inexplicably linked to being gross or playing with substances that smelled like clay feces.  I used to play with my Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles ooze machine wishing it was a little toy oven that could make amazing cupcakes.

Jokes on Hasbro, I got myself a kitchen and a boyfriend who loves baking. I eat cupcakes and cookies all day now. No amount of social engineering kept me away from the kitchen.

When I call my mom up we’ll talk about Batman.  Why? Because when she was a little girl she would sneak off to the Guatemalan bodega and buy herself Batman comics.

This little girl is a hero and the whole silly argument brings up a good point: Why settle for horrible gendered things when you can have the best of both worlds? An easy bake oven, AND Batman comics?

I’m trying to grasp at the reason, in earnest, and I can only come up with vague notions of propriety that disappear when you look at them straight on.

Leave a Reply

