Special Valentine’s Day Update: My Marriage Proposal

14 Feb

It’s Christmas and he asked me to marry him. I thought the proposal would be clean and clear, what a silly thing to think! The proposal was full of the quirks of our regular interactions. He turned to a shelf near the window of our small Lower East Side apartment and grabbed a festive red box and said he had one last gift.

Inside there were two rings, and he explained what they were–that they would turn to silver in time–naturally I don’t listen.

“Are you asking me to marry you?” I say, my voice boomed through my head and comes out incredulous and accusatory.

He smiled and said yes–he must be used to my booming voice.

I say yes. But it comes out like, “Yye-ee-ss.”

I think he was looking into my eyes, but I was too busy looking at his neck where I would soon bury my eyes. I would use his skin to dry my tears.

On Christmas Day there are no cars in the smaller streets of LES. From Clinton Street to Stanton Street, all you can hear is the cooing of pigeons, singing birds, and the lonely footsteps of couples in love.

Something I learned; if you are hungry when someone sincerely asks to marry you, you will lose your appetite. I don’t know why. We walk to a diner on Houston street and have dinner at four o’clock because my body and my appetite are in knots.

My tears well up through my smile at the diner. I will wake up next to him the following morning with tears in my eyes, thinking of writing this. I think I will cry forever.

2 Responses to “Special Valentine’s Day Update: My Marriage Proposal”

  1. stvrsnbrgr February 16, 2014 at 3:18 am #

    Congratulations, that’s wonderful!

    • Angel May 11, 2014 at 10:21 pm #

      I’m very happy to have read this. Congrats, Kevin.

Leave a Reply

